The Killers are a guilty pleasure of mine. I do know they started out watering down Joy Divison’s best ideas, and then followed by going all cod-Bruce Springsteen. I just like them okay?

But I challenge anyone (Marcus) to say a bad word about Lou Reed (Metal Machine Music notwithstanding). The Velvets are peerless (and please don’t think The Velvet Underground and Nico is their only album. Listen to Loaded, in fact listen to the last track, Oh sweet Nothing, first), and much of his solo work, like New York is pretty great too.

Anyway, I can’t stop listening to Tranquilize, their collaboration. It’s amazing.

Posted in

6 responses to “I like”

  1. The Kaiser Avatar
    The Kaiser

    will you never learn?

    Like

  2. NP Avatar

    Here we go….

    Like

  3. The Kaiser Avatar
    The Kaiser

    you started it. You started it last time as well, and look where that got you.

    Like

  4. lauren Avatar

    mr brightside is a killer track to dance to in the middle of camden high street while shopping for jeans, feeling fat and ugly. i’m not sure if the velvet underground could do that for me.

    Like

  5. Rob Mortimer Avatar

    Just as I read this the Killers come on the radio.
    I bought the first album on the strength of the first two singles (waaay before they became popular I might add!). Sadly the second album is pretty weak.
    As for Lou Reed and TVU, no complaints there NP.

    Like

  6. Mark Hadfield Avatar
    Mark Hadfield

    The Killers first album is like nothing ever before. The first 5 tracks are brilliant. The rest is absolute and utter dirge. Pink Floyd all the way for me…

    Like

Leave a comment