Someone asked me to crash out some thoughts on marketing departments and the relevance of marketing in today’s world. What follows is a slightly edited version. But in a nutshell – I couldn’t do  marekting director’s job and I respect people who do. I think that’s the key to lots of things – love the fact we’re all good at different stuff and surround yourself with people who can do what you can’t……
It’s tough in a Marketing department. You need two hats – the cold, rational side for the very real commercial realities like reporting to your board…and the creative skills you need to generate and recognise great ideas. Few people have both.
In my experience, most have a bias towards the rational, business side, and fairplay to them too. If I has a board and shareholders to please, people who really do only think in straight line, so would I.
But this makes marketing very risk averse…the greatest percieved risk is doing something different, but thanks to the the new medio savvy, web enabled consumer, not standing out is the REAL risk.
I think the best client/agency relationships are where each party understands what they’re good at – and relish others that fill their gaps. The worst relationships are where you pretend to be alike.
But it is hard….advertising isn’t what it was, and there’s this scary new world of multi touchpoint brands, content and God knows what else. It’s complex. Hard manage.
A marketer can react by keeping their agencies in silos – and buying ‘stuff’. The good ones force their agencies to work together, have a lead strategist and makes them share the risk, whatever the media.
100_3012
As for the relevance of marketing……I think marketing done well is still relevant, but we’re in this wierd transition phase when no one can agree what good marketing looks like. Most still think marketing is still about pushing messages, and manipulating people into wanting to buy your stuff. They target individuals.
But marketing has to get inspiring, in a world where people can shut out marketing that’s dull or irrelevent, people have to want to give you their attention – what you do needs to be at least as interesting as the ‘normal media’. That’s a big leap for most marketers and their agencies to make.
Oh, and I totally buy into the whole ‘herd’ and transmedia way of thinking. We’re  social animals, marketing will work best when it targets people as part of a social network – and magnifies the conversations there (or reframes them!!!). Most of the ills of the western world come us mistakenly thinking we’re each more special than we really are – it stops us learning from each other’s mistakes and listening to experience….."I’m/we’re different, won’t be the same for me/us"
That’s roughly what I think. Feel free to rip it to shreds.
Posted in ,

4 responses to “Thoughts on marketers and marketing”

  1. John D Avatar

    My problem with marketing directors is that they don’t seem to do much marketing – they administrate a process of outsourcing lots of activities to third parties and get promoted on the basis of the size of the budget they manage. Or is that unfair?

    Like

  2. The Northern Planner Avatar

    I can see your point, and yes that does happen a lot. Like most things, there’s extremes and both ends – but I think the above is fine, so long as they actually take the advice of the third parties!!

    Like

  3. Mark Hadfield Avatar

    Hi Mr. Northern,
    Happy New Year! It’s been a while since I replied so hope everything’s good up in the good old North.
    I joined a marketing company last year after I had spent the majority of my career outside of creative companies but as an inhouse creative. The first thing that struck me is how logistically driven the industry is. Management of the job comes first and creativity seems to fit into that. Maybe I’m just naive but I would have liekd to have thought it should be the other way around.
    Saying that – my job now is as that creative type person and the people who deal with the accounts are very good at creative stuff.
    So there you go – a typical Monday morning post. Trying to say 8 things but fail in all of them.
    Mark

    Like

  4. Cleaver Avatar
    Cleaver

    Interesting to hear you say that the “cold, rational side” generally triumphs.
    My impression is that the single greatest deficiency in most marketers is anything resembling analytical or reasoning skills.
    As a creative, I don’t have a lot of face-to-face experience with clients to back this up.
    But based on the reasons that filter through from suits as to why clients do and don’t like certain concepts, and the reasoning behind the changes they ask for, it really seems like a lot of them don’t understand what they’re buying.
    That’s not to say they’re stupid. The few clients i have met have been articulate, curious, engaged people. But analytical skills have to be learnt. just like any others.
    People used to make a disctinction between tertiary courses that teach “how to do” and those that teach “how to think”. I wonder if marketing degrees ought to involve more of the less of the former and more of the latter.

    Like

Leave a comment